February 21, 2010

Ban Krut- Day 22

Woke up at the ungodly hour of 4am so I could finish packing and have a shower before our taxi came at 6.30am. The ride to the station was semi-terrifying and 3 hours long. Semi-terrifying because Thai people have zero disregard for the lines on the road, if someone is slow they won't hesitate to zip into the oncoming lane to get around them. Our driver did that a few times when we were going up a hill or around the corner and you couldn't see farther than the turning point, more then once a car popped up and we had to cut infront of the car behind us just to avoid being hit! At the train station, I went to the bathroom ( after paying 3baht ) and watched as a lady in front of me took her shoes off, splashed into the bathroom and locked herself into the stall. Since it was the only one, I waited. When she came out I went to go into the stall and quickly decided not to after I saw that it was a bowl in the ground with a bucket of water beside it for flushing. No. Thank. You. The train ride was 4 hours and when we got to Ban Krut there was the tiniest tuk tuk waiting for us. 6 people and over 7 pieces of luggage were not going to fit so he had to call for backup! Within an hour of being here it started it rain for the first time since i've left Squamish. It was only a 3 minute shower, but enough to turn the air humid. Afterwards, the resort offers bikes, so we took some down to the local market and had dinner/ shopped.





Today we biked 'downtown' with consists of 10 shops max. and nosed around, bought a duck floatie then lounged on the beach for a good 3 hours. Since going to the spa is so cheap, of course I went and got a body treatment. Ban Krut is definately a place to relax.

No comments: